Home | Register | Log In
  • Print
  • Share

Lila Downs

Grammy award winning singer/songwriter, Lila Downs is the daughter of a Mixtec Indian woman, Anastasia Sanchez, who ran away from her village at 19 to sing in Mexico City cantinas and a Minnesota-born, Scottish-American professor, Allen Downs, who saw her singing and fell in love. Lila Downs was born in the Oaxacan mountain town of Tlaxiaco, 7,000 feet up in the heavens. The first songs she remembers are her mother singing Lola Beltrán's heartfelt rancheras, and her father singing Woody Guthrie's… Show more

Created by zventslila

Upcoming Events
Event Time Location Tools
Lila Downs Mon, Aug 11 9:00p House of Blues Chicago, IL Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sat, Aug 16 9:00p The Fillmore San Francisco, CA Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sun, Aug 17 5:00p City Winery Napa, CA Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Tue, Aug 19 7:00p House of Blues San Diego San Diego, CA Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Fri, Aug 22 7:30p Greek Theatre Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sun, Aug 24 8:00p Rawhide Steakhouse at Wild Horse Pass Chandler, AZ Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Wed, Aug 27 7:30p Lensic Performing Arts Center Santa Fe, NM Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Thu, Aug 28 7:30p House of Blues Houston, TX Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sat, Aug 30 8:00p House of Blues Dallas, TX Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Fri, Oct 10 9:30p Lincoln Center Brooklyn, NY Add to Calendar
Lila Downs Sat, Apr 11 8:00p Jones Hall Houston, TX Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sun, Apr 12 7:00p The Long Center Austin, TX Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Lila Downs Sat, May 2 8:00p Carolina Theatre of Durham Durham, NC Add to Calendar Ico_tix
Reviews & Comments
USER REVIEWS
This performer currently has no reviews. Be the first to share your thoughts with others!
Related Performers
 
 
Zvents - Discover things to do